Customer Reviews

Excellent accommodation and food

Reviewed July 2019
Arie V - Individual traveler

It's my third time staying at Transkaroo Country Lodge. All services and facilities are excellent. The staff are professional and welcoming. The food is of a very high quality. The buffet in the evening is something I look forward to every time. Cars are safely parked at night in a secure undercover parking next to the lodge.

Convenient hotel for stopover

Reviewed April 2019
Hans V - With spouse/partner

We stayed in this hotel in Britstown on our journey leg from Upington to Graaff-Reinet. Very friendly staff and the decoration is nice with a comfortable lounge and a spacious restaurant/shop. Room very clean and spacious. Both dinner and breakfast very good. Secure parking, the guard optionally washes your car for a small fee. After a long ride the pool in the garden is the icing on the cake!

Piece of paradise in the Karoo

Reviewed 11 Mar 2019
Karinonherway

This hotel is home-away-from-home and an oasis in the Karoo. The buffet is absolutely great, there is a a la Carte menu as well, so is breakfast. Rooms are quiant but very clean and quiet. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, from Johny who looks after your vehicle to the reception and restaurant staff. Happy staff happy place. The shop in the restaurant has beautiful stock off a wide variety, what a gem in the middle of nowhere.

Excellence Par Excellance

Reviewed 25 Feb 2019
355jjt

I just can not plan a trip without mapping the Transkaroo Country Lodge as sheduled overnight venue. You have to travel through the Karoo...you have to be thirsty...you have to be tired...then you have to stay at the Transkaroo Country Lodge !! Excellent reception...rooms beautiful and luxurious. Your ice cold beer or wine in the courtyard a must!! Late afternoon dip in the swimming pool a real treat. The evening buffet with roasted Karoo leg of lamb, venison pie, chicken pie, glazed pork with stunning salads complemented by fresh greens (all freshly home cooked) gives you an absolute "Karoo Cuisine", only in its kind! The service an exponent of true South African friendly and supportive professionalism. This venue given maximum for all aspects!! Many thanks to the owner and staff, you are truely rolemodels for your peers!

Transkaroo will transform your holiday for the better

Reviewed 28 Dec 2018
JG_Brevis

Our family visited Britstown during a road trip through the Karoo and ended up at Transkaroo Country Lodge for lunch. What a find! All staff encountered were friendly and most helpful. The restaurant, shop and hotel are clean and has an inviting ambience which lures you into staying much longer than initially anticipated. The food was brilliant! Service was swift and the burger I had was one of the best ever. If you ever happen to travel through Britstown I will recommend Transkaroo to be part of your travel plans whether for breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner or just a cup of coffee or tee. Next time we travel through the Karoo we will surely sleep over at Transkaroo.
We've stayed over many times and it is evident that a lot has been done to upgrade the rioms. It should, however, be noted that it's a county in, and as such should be rated accordingly.
We'll visit again - even only to enjoy the great food.

Little Italy in Britstown

Reviewed 6 Sep 2018
Swaeltjie

The feelings that arise as one arrives at Transkaroo Country Lodge, is that of warmth, excitement and familiarity as if visiting an old friend. The staff is friendly and humourous. They pay attention to detail and are eager to accommodate all our needs. The interior is beautiful and homey, with a marriage between historical and contemporary. The in-house restaurant is a culinary experience - especially the Karoo lamb and spicy apple pie! However, out favourite place to relax was certainly the courtyard, offering a teleportation to Europe with its Mediterranean feel, fairy lights and Italian music in the background. We'll definitely be back for a second helping of this wonderful experience!

Nice surprise

Reviewed 14 May 2018
JP S

We were traveling through Britstown and decided to stop for breakfast. From the moment we walked into the building we were treated like royalty. The ambiance is great and the staff was very friendly and helpfull. The service and food was excellent. The good coffee was a bonus.

One of a kind

Reviewed 3 Apr 2018
PaulHWessels

What a surprise when we visited this exceptional place... unexpected for a small Karoo town! Tastefully furnished and decorated. Excellent cuisine from a comprehensive menu and complemented by excellent service. Worth the while to pay this Lodge and Restaurant a visit.

A taste of Provence in the Karoo

Reviewed 25 Apr 2017
Ewert B

It's like stepping into another world. Excellent decor, back ground music at the perfect pitch, lovely combination of dining hall and shop. Rooms spacious. Excellent breakfast with the service being very friendly. Safe parking. Take some time to drive/stroll through the town. Lovely old buildings and a hidden little shop here and there

Karoo charm at its best!

Reviewed 12 Mar 2017
Kardoesie

Our friends recommended this lodging for an en-route stop over between our holiday destination and Johannesburg. We were completely amazed at this crown jewel in the dusty town of Britstown. As one enters the door, one is transported to a faraway world filled with charm, plush furniture, treasured finds and European chic. The hostess and her late husband have been at the helm of their hotel for 43 years – and what a unique, wondrous, charming hotel! Our spacious room overlooked the pool and was beautifully decorated with relics of time past as well as a good dose of Karoo charm. The mattresses, linen and towels were of excellent quality. Hangers and extra blankets and pillows were available. The shower’s water pressure was strong, amenities were provided as well as ample towels. The courtyard resembles France or Italy, with soothing music playing while one can sit at café tables under green vines. The pool offered a cool respite against the Karoo heat and offers a covered patio with seating, inviting one to curl up and drink in the peace. International magazines are available to read whilst sipping on something cool served from the bar. A deli and wine shop on the premises are very well stocked with large varieties of products. At night a buffet dinner is served, with delicious and well presented dishes, including vegetarian eats. Karoo lamb featured too as well as an array of desserts. We enjoyed after dinner drinks in the lounge, paging through the interesting books available to read. The service, from making the telephonic booking, arriving, and right to checking out, was nothing short of excellent, warm and very friendly. Safe parking is available. The owner was present at all times, interacting with guests.

It’s like stepping into another world. Excellent decor, back ground music at the perfect pitch, lovely combination of dining hall and shop. Rooms spacious. Excellent breakfast with the service being very friendly. Safe parking. Take some time to drive/stroll through the town. Lovely old buildings and a hidden little shop here and there